Sakho right at home

New signing Diafra Sakho has told the clubs official website that he has settled in well in East London, and already feels part of the West Ham family.

“It’s only been a couple of weeks but I feel right at home already. Even if I’m struggling a bit with the lingo!” Joked the striker.

“It’s a real family club and that’s what’s really touched me. When you’re away from home, family is so important and that’s precisely what I’ve found here at West Ham.

“I want to achieve things with West Ham and lots of them. I am super motivated and I’m going to give all that I possibly can to help the team.”

“I was thrilled to be in the squad against Crystal Palace and excited to play for the very first time in the Premier League.

“The manager called on me for the final 20 minutes and it did me the world of good. I tried to take the pressure off the boys, though it was a bit tough having not played for a little while.

“Against Sheffield United, the manager asked me to do a job on the right-hand side and, while it was a new experience for me, I really enjoyed it.

“It’s great to have scored on my home debut and hopefully you’ll see plenty more of that.

“Whenever I turn out at the Boleyn Ground, the minimum I’m aiming for is to score once!”

Sakho also praised the clubs home support, and revealed how different it is to compared to his time in France.

”The atmosphere is so, so different to France. Here, even when you make a run to win back the ball, perhaps chasing a lost cause, the fans appreciate it and applaud you.

“It gives you that added incentive to give even more for the supporters and for the club.”

Leave a Reply

