Song retires from International football

Alex Song has retired from International football with Cameroon, and his statement seems to suggest he is looking at a future with West Ham.

The former Arsenal midfielder, who has been a revelation for the Irons this season, decided to call time on his international career after it had been suggested he would compete at the African Cup of Nations this month.

Song said in his statement: “I want to take time to focus purely on domestic football and start to rebuild my career at West Ham United.

“Since the World Cup in the summer and my subsequent exclusion from the Cameroon squad for the African Cup of Nations I have taken the decision to retire from international football.

“It is true that there were some discussions of late to include me in the squad for this tournament but I feel after a lot of careful thought and numerous discussions with my family this is the right decision.”

IMG_1206.JPG

Leave a Reply

