22 Years

I can’t quite believe it’s been that long since we lost our beloved Bobby Moore.

I remember arriving at Upton Park on March 6th in 1993 with my Dad and we spent a long time in silence looking at the claret & blue shirts, flowers, scarves & all sorts.

At the time I was too young to really understand what had happened, and to appreciate who Bobby was to us. But one thing I did know, to cause this much sadness amongst the Boleyn faithful – this man must have been something special.

That afternoon we beat Wolves 3-1, and after the game on our way home I remember asking my Dad about Bobby. I remember him telling me about his England heroics, his unbelievable ability to read the game – and I remember him adding: ”above all, he was a good man.”

Gone, but never forgotten.

RIP Bobby Moore

IMG_1334.JPG

Leave a Reply

