Nolan and his Irons future

It’s a topic that has been over discussed this season by pretty much everybody connected with the club. Is Kevin Nolan finished at this level?

Well I for one have been frustrated with the majority of his displays this season. At times he has been shockingly second best against standard Premier League players, and it looked as though Nolan maybe playing his last season at this level.

However his display against Chelsea midweek was like the Nolan of old. His work rate was top notch, as was his winning of possession and distribution. This has left me wondering if Nolan still has a big part to play for us next season.

There’s no doubting that he is no longer seen as our first team midfielder, especially if we manage to keep the likes of Alex Song at the club. But Nolan can still put in a shift. And one must wonder if Nolan had been introduced against Spurs at White Hart Lane, would we have conceded so late on? I’m not sure we would have.

Nolan’s statement this week shows the man still wants to play, and particularly at the club he loves.

“I am not thinking about anything else except West Ham at the minute. I have had a fantastic time here; I love the club and the place. I have got such a great affiliation with everyone at the club and I want it to continue,” said Nolan.

“All I have got to do is get the chance to play and I will be happy and we can go on from there. Sometimes you can’t make everyone happy and you have to take that on the chin.”

I think it’s fair to say Sam will want to keep Kevin around this summer, but whether he will be here for when we move to the OS is another matter.

Let’s wait and see.

COYI

IMG_1357.JPG

Leave a Reply

