Reid: I always wanted to stay

Winston Reid has spoken of his love for the club, and that even though leaving did cross his mind, he has now realised that he wants to stay put and help the club reach its full potential.

It came as a fantastic surprise to all when Reid committed his long term future by signing a six and a half year deal last month, as to all it seemed he would depart this summer, with Arsenal looking his most likely destination.

His decision to stay has been a huge boost to all connected with West Ham, and once again a statement that our club really is going places.

Reid has told of his decision, and how it’s one he is glad is now done and dusted

“It did strike me to move to another place, but my family and I wanted to stay here,” Reid told The Sun.

“I felt it was important for me to stay here, be part of the club and help them build for the future.

“I figured out what I wanted to do with my career and that’s to be part of the place here and help the club to improve. It wasn’t that I was waiting or holding out – I only had three months left and I could have signed somewhere else.

“I was thinking about my future, it was difficult time. I was happy here otherwise I wouldn’t have signed here again. It’s nice to get it out of the way and everything finished as there was a lot of talk.”

IMG_1382.JPG

Leave a Reply

