Cresswell: I’m going nowhere

One of the huge positives this season has to be the signing of Aaron Cresswell from Ipswich. The boy gelled into our team so quickly and has taken to Premier League football like a duck to water.

His performances have not gone unnoticed however, and big spending Manchester City have been rumoured to be lining up a summer move for the young left-back – however Cresswell has poured cold water on those rumours, and has insisted that his future is with West Ham.

“When West Ham came knocking on the door for me, there was only one way that I was going to go,” said Cresswell.

“I can’t believe how quickly it has gone and I have played more than 30 games. I didn’t think it would go quite this well.

“I’ve just kept my head down from the minute I walked in and tried to play as many games as I can this year.

“I worked hard during pre-season and my aim was to make the first game which I did and I didn’t want to lost my spot in the team.

“Obviously it’s gone well on the pitch for me personally and the club, sitting in ninth position. I think we’d have taken that at the start of the season. ”

His performances have also raised the question as to whether we have a future left back on our hands here, and it’s something Cresswell is more than aware of.

”It will be a proud moment for me and my family if I do get my first England call-up,” he added.

”I will keep doing my best for West Ham and if it does happen I will be very proud.

“Every young kid wants to play for the team they support but to play for your country is a massive thing.

“I didn’t think it would go this well. I have kept working hard and luckily things have gone well for both myself and team. Hopefully that can continue.

“The main thing for me is to do well for West Ham and help them finish as high up the table as we can.”

IMG_1390.JPG

Leave a Reply

